Published on: Jun. 1, 2015
City and County Police Merger Update 6/1/15

The Chamber would like to thank Savannah City Council Aldermen Carol Bell, John Hall, Mary Osborn, Estella Shabazz, Mary Ellen Sprague, Tony Thomas and Mayor Edna Jackson for the affirmative vote last week to retain the Metro Police merger. Alderman Van Johnson abstained due to being a county employee while Alderman Bordeaux voted against. With this supportive vote by the City, they join the County who voted last week to retain the merger. The Chamber supports the need to gather accurate cost/service data, while the City and County managers work closely together with Chief Lumpkin to assure citizens in both the unincorporated County and City of Savannah experience the highest degree of public safety and policing possible. We encourage everyone to thank our officers for their dedication and professionalism demonstrated during this process.

Chamber News
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Privacy Policy | GDPR FAQ